Here Are the Corporate Free Super Progressive Candidates Running in the California General Election: Support Them!

Julia Peacock
Jovanka BecklesRobert RivasMaria EstradaElizabeth WarrenMarggie CastellanoSocorro CisnerosJames EliaScott RhinehartAlan GeraciJulia Peacock

Ammar Campa-Najjar


The California primaries are over, and while unfortunately many of our best and most progressive candidates did not make it to the general (and none of our statewide candidates), many others did.  It is incumbent upon us to help them win!  This is the list of the candidates supported by the members of the California Super-Progressive Anti-Corporate Political Activists Facebook group, a coalition of Bernie delegates and super-volunteers, progressive members of the California Democratic Party and Green Party activists.   Key races are in bold. Please volunteer in their campaigns!

We will be adding local candidates as we learn about them.

November 2018 Election

State Assembly

AD 3 Sonia Aery (D)
AD 10 Dan Monte (D)
AD 15 Jovanka Beckles (D)
AD 30 Robert Rivas (D)
AD 33 Socorro Cisneros (D)
AD 63 Maria Estrada (D)
AD 67 Michelle Singleton (D)
AD 71 James Elia (D)
AD 73 Scott Rhinehart (D)
AD 75 Alan Geraci (D)
AD 76 Elizabeth Warren (D)

State Senate

SD 4 Phillip Kim (D)
SD 24 Peter Choi (D)
SD 36 Marggie Castellano (D)

US Congress

CD 1 Audrey Denney (D)
CD 17 Ro Khanna(i) (D)
CD 34 Kenneth Mejia (G)
CD 42 Julia Peacock (D)

CD 50 Ammar Campa-Najjar (D)

Local Offices

Note: At this point candidates we are adding candidates that commit to be corporate/special interest free and who have a progressive record without additional vetting to give voters a chance to learn about them.  We are working to develop methods for further determining what qualifies as an #unbought candidate at the local level and a questionnaire to make sure they share our values

Alameda County

Berkeley City Council D1: Margo Schueler or Igor Tregub
Berkeley City Council D4: Kate Harrison
Berkeley City Council D8: Alfred Twu
Berkeley Rent Stabilization Board: Soli Alpert

Castro Valley School Board: Dot Theodore

Fremont City Council D3: Jennifer Kassan

Oakland Mayor: Cat Brooks
Oakland City Council D2: Nikki Fortunato Bas

Oro Loma Sanitary District: Guillermo Elenes

Contra Costa County

Concord City Council D3: Kenji Yamada

San Francisco

City Council D10: Toni Kelley

Santa Cruz County

Santa Cruz City Council:  Drew Glover

(i) = incumbent

(D) = Democrat
(G) = Green Party

Note: Inclusion on this list does not imply my support or the support of any individual member of the FB group. Members of the California Democratic Party are prohibited from expressing support or preference for candidates for state or national office not registered Democrat, and no such support should be implied.

This list is NOT final, names may be added or removed as more information becomes available